Have you been arrested for theft in Weber County, Davis County or Salt Lake County? A theft conviction in Utah can result in jail time and may severely limit your future employment opportunities among other problems. As a criminal lawyer, I have help you by protecting your rights and guiding you through the process. Our experienced criminal defense attorneys handle a wide range of theft and fraud charges, including:
- Shoplifting and retail theft
- Employee theft
- Bad checks
- Fraud and identity theft
- Embezzlement and other white collar crimes
Standing By Your Side
Many people who are charged with shoplifting and other theft offenses have never been charged with a crime. They frequently do not understand the process involved in a criminal case and how the system works.
At our firm, we believe strongly in the importance of personal service. We take time to educate clients about the law, explain their charges, answer their questions and listen to their concerns.
Aggressive Defense Lawyers
Our criminal defense team is experienced and aggressive. We believe that every client has a right to a vigorous defense.
In our opinion, there is no such thing as a small criminal charge. Every criminal charge carries the potential for serious consequences and penalties. In many cases, it is the collateral consequence of a criminal conviction that can do the most damage. This is especially true in a theft case where a conviction can do serious harm to a person’s future employment opportunities.
Utah takes DUI charges very seriously. For individuals charged with multiple DUI offenses, the consequences are much steeper. If you have been arrested and charged with your second, third or fourth DUI in Utah, it is critical that you hire a skilled and highly trained DUI defense lawyer as soon as possible. Having a strong advocate on your side is critical to handling the charges effectively with as little disruption to your life as possible.
Understanding How Utah Handles Repeat DUI Offenses
Multiple DUI offenses are serious. In Utah, a DUI is an enhanceable offense. This means that you may be charged with a more serious offense if you have been charged with the same crime before.
Second offense — If you have two DUIs within a 10-year period, the mandatory minimum sentence is 10 days in jail. In addition, your driver’s license will be suspended for a year and you will have a minimum fine of $800. The fine does not include the cost of impound fees, increased insurance premiums, license reinstatement fees, alcohol education classes and treatment costs.
Third offense — If you have three DUIs within 10 years, the offense will be charged as a felony DUI offense. The mandatory minimum sentence is 62 days and could face as much as five years in prison. Your driver’s license will be suspended for two years and you will face fines starting at $1,500. You may also face the seizure of your vehicle.
All DUIs in Utah will require you to install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle. This device prevents you from starting your car unless you have blown into it to verify that you are not intoxicated.
These harsh penalties do not mean you are without options. It is understandable that you may not want your employer or even certain family members to be aware of your DUIs. Our attorneys will always work to have your charges dismissed. In the event that we are unable to have the charges thrown out, we will do everything we can to minimize your consequences and protect your reputation.
Free Consultation with a Criminal Defense Attorney
When you need criminal defense, even if it is a DUI, shoplifting, bad checks, bounced checks, or theft, please give our office a call for your free consultation (801) 676-5506. We want to help you.
8833 S. Redwood Road, Suite C
West Jordan, Utah
84088 United States
Telephone: (801) 676-5506
How long does it take to get divorced?
via Michael Anderson http://www.ascentlawfirm.com/shoplifting-and-theft-attorney/